Travel from a Woman’s Perspective


According to a recent poll of travel agents by Travel Guard, 91% of agents say that more and more women are planning trips by themselves or with a group of gal-pals. And I, for one, would agree, as I traveled solo to Virginia earlier this year and with one of my girlfriends to Boston not too long ago. So, what’s behind this empowering trend?  

According to the majority of travel agents, the most common reason women travel solo is because they value their independence and are sophisticated enough to travel alone. (Hey, I’m not going to argue with that!)  Although some agents (28%) believe it is because they are interested in visiting an unusual destination that others may not be.

So, what’s the activity of choice when traveling alone or on an all-girls trip? Shopping of course! Apparently, 27% of agents polled say that women who travel alone or with other women believe shopping is the most popular activity while traveling. Apparently, I must be in the minority, as I love to partake in the local culture and history of the places to which I travel. Anyone agree? According to our poll, only 17% of women traveling solo do so to enjoy the history, culture and education of a destination followed by beach escapes (big surprise), adventure travel and cruises.

Though it seems more and more women enjoy solo travel, their age may be a surprise. A majority of travel agents polled note that most women planning to travel alone are above age 45, while only 13% are between 35-44 years old and only 7% are between18-34.  Following the same trend, the majority (68%) of women who travel in small groups are over the age of 45.  Women ranging between 35-44 years old make up 26% of those traveling in groups, while six percent are between the ages of 18-34 (anyone else wondering what happened to college trips and spring break)?

No matter the reason for their trip, most travel agents (94%) report women who travel are playing it safe by purchasing travel insurance. Better safe than sorry, right?

If you are a woman and you like to travel, hearing from you could win you a Travel Guard backpack. If you enjoy traveling by yourself of with a group of women, where do you enjoy going and what do you most enjoy doing on your trips? Of those who respond, we will draw a name of one lucky person to win a Travel Guard backpack!

This entry was posted in Fall Travel, Travel Destination Planners, Travel Gadget News, Travel Guard Testimonials, Travel News, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Travel from a Woman’s Perspective

  1. Sara says:

    I actually just got back from my first solo travel trip to Scotland. I’m a single 27-year-old woman and I just got tired of waiting for a guy to come along to fulfill all my travel dreams. I was totally nervous about it…wondered if I’d be lonely or if something came up where I’d feel in danger. But i was pleasantly surprised. I found that when you travel alone you actually end up talking a lot more to local people and getting way more of a cultural exchange than you would if you went with a friend and spent the whole time talking to them, you know? I also stayed with a local family while I was there (which I strongly recommend trying!). I am seriously a solo travel addict now! I can’t wait to plan my next trip. When I am not solo traveling, I usually go on trips with my really good gal pal who i have known since high school. We are always finding new and crazy things to do and getting ourselves into trouble…but coming back with the best stories.

    • bkrombholz says:

      Very cool! Yes, I agree that solo travel can be invigorating. Granted, I only traveled alone to Virginia, but I did feel more open to other people I met on the way and while there. Great expereience. Thanks for sharing your experience with us!!

  2. bkrombholz says:

    Sara… looks like you win a Travel Guard backpack! If you email your mailing address to travelguard@travelguard.com, I’d be happy to send it to you!

Leave a Reply

